April 1, 2012

First off HAPPY APRIL FOOLS DAY EVERYONE!! OK now that that’s out of my system, I just wanted to let everyone know that I am in a much better place right now.  No, I haven’t exactly figured out my major/life yet, but I’m getting myself much more organized, and that’s helping calm my stress levels a lot.  So this post is a much happier one, and much more normal me, then the last.

I still haven’t been riding, but I have been more determined to find something in my area.  I called one of the top hunter/eq trainers out here, and she says she’ll let me know if anything comes in that I can lesson on.  So progress!!!

Also this is incredibly random I know but, I got new tall boots!  My old ones have holes in the calves, and when I went home for break, I decided to stop in our local tack store and get some new ones.  And let me tell you guys, if you are in the market for some nice tall boots, please look at the Mountain Horse Supremes.  They are gorgeous!!! I tried the new Tredstep ones, the Da Vincis, and the Donatellos, but both didn’t fit me at all.  The regular I could fit my whole arm in there with my leg, and the slim I couldn’t even zip up… But I had heard rave reviews on the Supremes so I tried them and wow, GORGEOUS!! In the picture on Smartpak the calves look a little big, but I think that might just be the angle, as these are the closest a fit I’ve ever had. VERY skinny ankles!

On to my next topic, my poor little pup.  I remember in my pre-vet program in high school we talked about how mutts are generally healthier than pure bred dogs, just because they haven’t had as much in-breeding and line-breeding.  But my little puppy has seriously been on meds ever since we got him.  First it was because he had the kennel cough, or some sort of upper respiratory virus, so he was on antibiotics for that.  After that was finished, his skin was itchy so they gave me a topical ointment, but that didn’t help as much so he went on antibiotics, as it turned into a skin infection, and steroids, to help with the itch.  Well he got roid rage, so was taken off of the steroids.  We just went back for our last puppy check up, all his puppy shot are done (such a big boy), and he has the beginnings of an ear infection, which I’m not to surprised as thats pretty common in the hot a humid weather.  So I thought he was done, already had ear infection ointment and got ear cleaner.  Well he had his last vaccinations, as I said, and he didn’t react well to one of them.  Poor little baby was limping and VERY sensitive at the injection site, so I rushed him back to the vets, where he got a dose of Benadryl and some non-steroidal anti-inflammatories for the pain.  Thankfully hes all better, running around my apartment like a loon as I type this, but seriously, poor little pup!!

So sad 😦 You can actually see where his leg was swollen

So thats all I got.  Hope everyone has an AWESOME April Fools Day, and they don’t get tricked to badly. 🙂

5 thoughts on “April 1, 2012

  1. I'm glad you're looking for a rose again, we need all the hunter jumpers we can get in this world. Awe, poor puppy. My cats don't react well to their shots either but normally bounce out of it after a few days. Glad he is back to his crazy self.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

