June 14th, 2012

Went out to see Libby at the new farm, and wow the drive is not 40 minutes.  Its closer to an hour.  I’m going to have to find something closer and fast.

The farm is a quaint little farmette that has a 6 stall barn with run-outs on each stall.  There’s a huge tackroom, air conditioned, and a nice big feed room.  There a small clay riding ring with a few jumps, and then a larger grass ring with a couple of jumps.  Everything’s very well kept, its just a bit old.   It would be a great setup, had it been at least 30 minutes closer to me.  I can’t make that drive everyday, or even every other day, so I’ll probably only be able to get out to the barn like 4 days a week, which just isn’t enough for me.  I scoured the internet last night, looking for other boarding options in the area, and I honestly haven’t found anything.  I spoke to a friend of mine that boards her horse in town, and she explained to me that I’m going to have to compromise on something, but what? I never thought anything I had asked for in a boarding facility was ridiculous, but I’m starting to realize I’m going to have to compromise on something big.  So heres a list of things I wanted in a boarding facility, maybe you guys can help me figure out which I can live without. 

  1. Sturdy, well cared for barn and facility.  This means no chicken wire in the stalls, and honestly I’d rather the horses not be able to see each other in the stalls, since I think it promotes aggression at feed times.  This also covers the grounds, which should be clean and well cared for.  And a ring thats usable.
  2. Knowledgeable staff that do their jobs.
  3. Able to feed my own feed if need be.  

I never knew it would be so hard to find somewhere with all three, but I’m learning that I might not be able to feed her what I want, or get a ring, or even staff that know what they’re doing.  I’m so nervous and frustrated and I don’t know what to do!!!! AHHHH!

On a happy note, I didn’t feel well enough to ride yesterday, I think I have a stomach virus or something, so I watched my trainer ride her for a bit.  And she was so much better then Monday.  She is definitely in heat though, she’s whinnying and squealing at the boys there.  My trainer told me yesterday when she rode her she was not as easy to deal with, but two days out of like 2 months that shes bad I think we can deal with it 🙂

2 thoughts on “June 14th, 2012

  1. It's a bummer that it is so much farther!

    I think that a ring with decent footing is really important, obviously you want a safe facility, which means the staff need to be relatively competent… And most places will let you feed a different food but there might be a fee. My barn has a lot of options so I haven't had an issue.

    I hope you'll find something soon that works for you guys!

    Like

  2. I know. I was not expecting the 50 min drive out. I am happy that shes with my trainer though, because I know she'll be getting the best care with her. I'm at a loss of what to do!!! Agh so frustrating!

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

