October 12, 2012

I finally was able to see and ride Libby! After a week plus of not seeing her, I was going a bit crazy, especially since I kept getting some packages for her!

My tack trunk with all of my belongings didn’t make it to the farm until today, which was the main reason why I didn’t go out.  I wasn’t going to make the drive all the way out to the hour away farm just to get stuff to drive another 45 to the other farm.  So I just had to wait until it got there. 

So to say I was excited to ride today is an understatement.  Especially since my trainer kept sending me texts of how good shes been, and how she thinks her defiant stage is over.  YAY!  Maybe I don’t have to think about “solutions” after all. 

So got to the barn, tacked her up, and brought her out to the ring.  Got on and we noticed she was being a little finicky, we thought it was due to the new girth I just got for her, so we put her on the longe line to get her muscles a little more relaxed.   I got on and she was still super tense, flighty, and just not listening.  Put her on the line again, this time for much longer, and tried one more time.  She was still bad.  My trainer was upset, especially since she had been saying how good shes been. 

So I have come to the conclusion that she is testing me, hard.  Pulling, not bending, not listening overall, spooking at nothing.  She was pulling on me so hard, that I was becoming numb in my left arm.  And let me tell you, I’m pretty sick of it.  Especially since I’ve only had a couple rides on her lately where I’ve been able to just ride.  I understand that ever horse does this, they have to see how much they can get away with, but shes not getting it that I can and will make her do what I want if I have to.  No more nice mom, not anymore. 

On another note I got some great stuff!! I finally got Libby a new martingale, with a nameplate (fancy shmancy), a new girth that actually fits, and a Fleeceworks baby pad (my favorite baby pads, which I scored off ebay for well below market value).  My next purchase is either going to be blankets, or a half pad.  

Does anyone have experience with the Dover brand blankets?? I was looking at the sheets they have for sale…

11 thoughts on “October 12, 2012

  1. I totally feel your pain – Houston is also being quite defiant. He is a snarky B-tard about it at times though.

    A post is meaningless without pictures of the loot! I have never used those blankets. I am bummed – I got hue the Amigo Turnout and he is already getting shoulder rubs. Not good… Need to figure out a solution for that one.

    Like

  2. Yea, and the most annoying thing about her defiance, is that if you give her a good kick, or get after her for pulling on you by pulling up, she sometimes gets scared, so you have to pick your battles wisely.

    I'll definitely get some pictures today! Libbys already getting some winter woolies going on, so I have to make a decision quick. The problem is though, that I know the price listed on Dover on the website isn't the cheapest, and for some reason, I still haven't gotten the sale catalogs from them at my new apartment. I'm going to have to call…

    Like

  3. Love your new cover photo! Sorry Libby's being so weird… I went through a similar thing with Limerick recently and know that it sucks 😦 Especially the spooking at nothing part, I seriously thought he was trying to kill me!

    Like

  4. I don't have any Dover blankets but I do live and die by Big D blankets… LOVE them and have found them to fit a bunch of different horses and have lasted MANY seasons 🙂 Not sure what your price range is but I think they are very reasonable.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

