October 25th, 2012

Has anyone ever spoken with their horses previous owners?  While at home, I messaged Libbys old owner on FB and was super surprised to learn that miss Libbers was actually a pretty difficult baby.  When her previous owner J purchased her, she was an unhandled 2 1/2 yr old filly, who obviously had trust issues.  She was also difficult to start, due to her trust issues.  I was so glad her previous owner was so willing to tell me all this, since it really shows how far shes come.  When I look at Libby I easily envision her being the total babysitter type of horse, being very push button.  She’ll definitely be the horse that I would feel comfortable having my future children putz around on.  So it was just very surprising to hear that she wasn’t always that way. 

I drove out with my friend C again, and got tacked up almost immediately when we got to the barn.  It was a little windy when we got on, but Libby was all business.  She was a little interested in the horse C was riding, she loves to stare, but she was overall really good.  Walked, trotted, and cantered and she felt great.  Did a little lateral work, moving her off my inside leg, threw a couple of simple changes in there to mix it up, and we were all warmed up.  Started trotting over the crossrail and she was LAZY, didn’t even offer to canter afterwards.  Went straight to the line and I had to push her over the fence to get her to land at the canter, but we made it out in a nice easy 6.  Took a little break to talked about keeping my hands up and out of my lap, and to give C a chance to do the same exercise.  Then we put a little course together.  Cantered up to the first jump and got in a little too deep, but Libby being the fabulous girl she is, didn’t care one bit and cantered on.  Went across the diagnol to the white gait, which I always have trouble getting a good spot for whatever reason, stayed still and Libby took care of it.  On to the line, and I was so focused on getting straight to the turn that I forgot to keep my leg on and Lib broke.  Whoops.  Went straight back to it, kept my leg on and my hands up and we got in great, maybe a little long, but whoa’d a touch and we got out in a nice flowing 5.  Flying change then onto the outside blue, and I nailed it.  I felt so on it today, even my trainers trainer, who owns the barn and all the sale horses that come in was whooping me.  We did the same course and changed it up a bit at the end and called it a day.  Libby was so good, and I was really happy with her.  🙂

Such a good girl!

Where are my treats!!

Wondering when I’ll graze her I’m sure…

Ride tomorrow then she gets Saturday off.

7 thoughts on “October 25th, 2012

  1. I was so happy that I even got the chance to ask. Most of the horses I've ridden have just come through as sales, so I never was given the chance to know about their past.

    Like

  2. That's one of the perks I really love about my mare being bred by my coach and purchasing her as a yearling. I know her story inside and out, so there are no unknown parts of her past. Very cool that you were able to learn a little more about your girl's upbringing.

    PS – Mex was pretty much half wild till she was 2 1/2 as well. She grew up with minimal handling on over 300 acres, and I initially bribed her with apples. Thankfully Libby got over her trust issues, but if she were able to grow up like a “real horse”, that might have contributed to her great brain. It's certainly a factor in the horses my coach breeds being so sane and level headed.

    Like

  3. Thats much like Libbys situation too. The only thing I've noticed is that she spooks with things in the distance, rather then up close, which I attribute to being in a herd environment.

    But it certainly is nice to now all her history!

    Like

  4. She is WAY TOO CUTE! I never got to talk to my first horses owners too much as he was off the track and in a sales barn and Hue only had one owner before me…

    Glad they were so willing to chat.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

