October 26th, 2012

Thanks to Sandy, it was super windy today.  When I got to the barn, we decided to just hack Libby instead of school her over fences, since the wind was making all the dead branches fall off the trees in the woods surrounding the ring, something that is very scary for greenies.

So I tacked up, stuck some ear plugs in just in case, and lunged her for a bit.  My trainer had told me a while ago about “joining up” with a horse, how it really helps to get them to trust and submit to you.  And when Libby was bad that one Saturday last week, I got to see my trainer do that with her, so I figured I’d give it a try.  It really doesn’t take much, just lots of quick direction changes on the line to make her listen and pay attention to me.  I did that for about 5 minutes, since she really didn’t seem up and got on.

Now I don’t know if the “joining up” had anything to do with it, but Libby was awesome! She normally hates flatting, so thats when her defiance comes out in full force.  But she was responsive, and listening, and didn’t brace or fight with the bit at all.  I did lots of changes of direction, lots of circles, and just kept her on her toes so she didn’t get bored.  I was so proud of her for keeping her cool, because the woods did sound super scary, with branches snapping left and right, and birds constantly flying in and out.  But she didn’t spook once, and was all business.  I finished with some super clean simple changes, and gave her a huge pat.  She was tired!! What a turn around shes made in just a short week!  She went from spooking, pulling, and just not listening at all to being the responsive, quiet super horse I know she is.  Lets hope she stays this way!!

On a side note, how many of you guys are clipping your own horses?  Libbys already pretty hairy, and my trainer keeps hinting that she really needs to be clipped, but I can’t exactly afford to clip her right now, so I’ve been thinking of just doing her myself.  I’ve clipped before, but I don’t think shes ever been clipped so I’m a bit nervous that I’ll be getting in over my head.  Oh well, well cross that bridge when it comes, i.e. when I can’t stand her shagginess anymore.  And do you guys have any experience with bed sores or hock sores?  Libby loves to sleep lying down, like all the time, and now has these nasty grody sores.  I’ve been applying Desitin to them, with no improvements, so am looking for alternatives.

Also, Libbys daddys owner has a blog that they post updates on his offspring, so I thought I’d share… The link is here

Such a good girl, soooo tired…

6 thoughts on “October 26th, 2012

  1. Libbers is so cute! Glad you had a nice ride!

    – do you have body clippers? I don't so I am still debating to buy a set or just pay for him to be clipped… He has never been clipped either and I am banking that he might require some tranquilizers solely for the patience factor.

    Like

  2. I do. I have the Andis AGC clippers that I use, and my trainer will also let me use her industrial large clippers, so long as I buy some blades.

    The fact that Libby hasn't been clipped before is one of the reasons I've been putting it off. I don't want it to be a stressful event, even if that means just having a professional do it.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

