October 28th, 2012

Got out to the barn and there were people there looking at horses.  The two young teenage girls that were riding were very sweet, and kept complimenting me on how cute Libby was, which is always nice to hear!

When the girls and their family went to deliberate on which horse to buy over some lunch, I got on so I could sneak in a ride before they needed to figure out the nitty gritty of the sale. 

Libby was a little forward, but thats to be expected when we had such a large temperature drop, from the mid 80’s to the 60’s.  She was listening well though, and was attentive to my aids without being super sensitive.  After warming her up on the flat, we got to our jumping.  She was AWESOME! And I was ON IT!  Nailed practically every distance, ok might have bobbled one or two, and I felt like I knew what I was doing which is a great feeling I must say.  We even graduated to doing a couple large oxers!!  YAY! 

I was so proud of Libby, and of myself.  We’ve really come a long way in just a short amount of time.  When we first moved back to Williston, she was hard to handle with the spooking and getting super strong, and now its like I have a different horse.  I was also too nervous in the beginning to get after her, thinking it would hurt her feelings or something.  But now I’m making the decisions, and shes very respectful of that.  I think it makes her respect and trust me that much more, knowing that I will make the decisions for her. 

Overall a great ride! My trainer was saying how proud she was of us, and how she can’t wait for my next show.  Hopefully all these breakthroughs will stick with me in the show ring!

I like to think she knows just how good she is 🙂

A little big in the shoulders…

And since it was cold, I put her cooler on for a bit, mostly just so she could fashion it for me.  Its a little big, but works just fine.  Plus it was like 15 bucks, so when I do need another one, it wont be such a big deal.

3 thoughts on “October 28th, 2012

  1. At this point I have no idea. It was supposed to be Nov 9, but my brothers fiance scheduled the bridesmaids party for trying on dresses that weekend, so can't go to it.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

