December 1st & 2nd, 2012

December 1st: Rode early so I could help my friend K move her horse to the barn we went to see.  Libby started out super lazy, so we got her juices flowing with a little gallop around the ring.  After that she was the right mixture of laziness and sensitive.  We had a jump school, and like last time, we were really working on the forward horse show stride, of which I’m getting used to little by little.  We were doing great, getting 95% of our distances, flowing to each jump, it felt good.  We were doing so well that my trainer put the jumps up, and raised some oxers for us.  Libby felt awesome, and at one point over the out of the line, which was put up to an oxer, accidentally hit herself in the face with her hoof…. Holy SCOPE!  It was a really awesome lesson to say the least.

Her old barn owner went totally nuts on her when she found out shed been looking at other facilities, and my friend wanted to get her horse out to safety.  Thankfully the new barn owners were very nice about it, and even had advice for K.  I think I jumped the gun a little bit about the whole moving to a new farm.  I honestly don’t think I would want to trade up instruction quality for people at the barn, but time will tell if it wears on me anymore then it already has.

December 2nd: Got out to the barn with C and we found out the groom had been late and they were just getting fed.  And since Libby eats her food so painfully slow, we got on a round of other horses first.  I got a little tiny pony, of course because I’m the only one out of my trainer and C that will actually fit ponies anymore.  Anyways, got on and we putzed around on them.  I jumped a couple stuff with the pony, who was such a good boy, and watched my trainer school one of the really nice hunters we have there.

After getting all untacked and putting those horses away, we all got on our normal horses.  Libby was really stiff, probably from being in heat.  We flatted really quick and started popping over fences.  I had a small jump school, since we had schooled her quite a bit over fences and she was so good.  My friend C was having trouble though.  Her normal horse was testing her, and was stopping when it was a bit of a chip.  They schooled that out of him quickly though.  As she was taking a break and I was getting ready to pop over a couple, I was just saying how the only time Libby had really ever stopped was when she started pooping and we lost momentum to the jump.  Well I jinxed myself.  We went to the out of the line, and for whatever reason I couldn’t see anything but a chip.  We chocolate chipped it, not too bad, but bad enough in Libby opinion, and then went on to our blue, of which the only distance I could see was yet again the chip.  And Libby said no mom, find a better distance! She stopped, I gave her a good kick to let her know, you still have to go over it, even if it isn’t the BEST distance, and we went on without issue. Silly horses.

When I have everyone out at the barn, it makes me wonder why I thought to move in the first place.  I know that I want a barn family, and more input in my mares care, but I don’t want to sacrifice the most important thing in my opinion, the quality of instruction.  Like I said before though, come season if she doesn’t have time for me, I might rethink it, but for now, I’m just going to stay put. Plus if I decide I do want to move, my friend K would be at that new barn for a little while and could tell me how she likes it after being there and taking lessons.

13 thoughts on “December 1st & 2nd, 2012

  1. A great trainer is hard to find! Ugh decisions!! Hopefully you will be able to find something that works out best for you or your trainer will be able to move or something!

    I too have gone back and forth about boarding crap… but the trainer really is what has kept me put… so you aren't alone! 🙂

    Like

  2. I'm hoping my trainer will just find a place and realize that its time she spread her wings. She is so good, but doesn't want to deal with drama, and therefor doesn't want to take on lots of teenage girls.

    Like

  3. Glad Libby has been good for you! Sounds like you will figure it all out. You know you have options and that is very important. Stay put and you will know soon enough if a move is necessary for you and Libs.

    On input on care- what do you mean there?

    Like

  4. Like I have no idea what she gets feed wise, I'm never told when the farrier is coming out, and I never get to talk with the farrier to see how Libbys feet are doing. Everything is done for me, and its like pulling teeth to try to do things myself, like using my own clipper to save money. Even though they're just little things, they're still important.

    Like

  5. That would really bother me… I hold Houston every 5-6 for the farrier and ask all sorts of questions (partially bc he has to be held). As for clipping… Either I clip my own horse or pay my trainer. We aren't really allowed to bring in outside people to do things like that :/

    Does your farm not have a feed chart? I don't decide what Houston eats but I know what he eats. I mostly trust my trainers judgement in that area.

    Like

  6. This stuff would drive me nuts!! I guess I'm not the typical ammy and I know I would not be happy in a full service barn. I value the opinion of my trainer (and I don't think I've ever gone against what he's recommended because, well… he knows his sh.t, haha) but my horse is MY HORSE and I will do with her what I please. This sounds far more rebellious that it is, but I would not be able to be at a barn where I had zero input on farrier, feed, etc.

    That said, my horse is on 24/7 turn out on my trainer's feed schedule and with my trainer's farrier. 😉

    Like

  7. Hilary: It does bother me, especially since I'm sure the farrier would tell me that she needs to be on some sort of supplement because her hooves have been crumbling lately. My farm doesn't have a feed chart, so I have no idea. I did notice she was getting some coastal that I told them to change, so shes not getting that anymore. Not to say that I don't trust my trainer on that, but its nice to know what shes getting since I do own her.

    Julie: I'm not used to full service either, which is why I don't like it. I was always a working student at my old farm so I knew what every horse in the barn ate, and it wasn't an issue.

    Like

  8. Yep, that would be hard. I've always had mine at home, can't imagine not knowing what my guy gets.

    Amazing how your mind can play a role when you are riding eh!

    Like

  9. I was a working student for my coach too, so that's probably where part of this stems from. I was very hands on then (though I didn't have a horse), and since then, I've been in charge of everything but stall cleaning since I've boarded her out. I read some things on COTH about barn owners and/or trainers deciding every little thing with their clients' horses, and I don't think I could handle it! I like being involved in her care, and it's helped me to learn a lot too, coming from a position where I had no control over any of the horses I rode.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

