January 3rd, 2012

First post of the new year!!! First off, happy New Year everyone!! Hope everyones night was awesome, and everything it was expected to be.  I unfortunately have had a stomach virus since New Years Eve, so I was not a happy camper.  And because I’ve been so weak feeling from the virus, I haven’t been able to get back to Libby.  As you can imagine, I miss her so much!  But with me being away from the situation at the barn, I’ve been able to reflect on what I really want from my barn, and I’ve kinda-sorta made a decision as far as moving goes. 

I’ve come to the realization that my trainer is not going to change who she is, and what her values are just because her one student is a bit unhappy.  Shes not going to leave her family in Palatka to make her home base somewhere closer to the Gainesville/Ocala area just for me, and shes not going to start up a boarding/training facility, just because I don’t like where I’m at now.  And its really not fair of me to ask all those things of her anyways.  So I’ve made the decision that after the show, I want to really look for other places to move to.  I’ve been given a couple names of people to contact in the area, so once I get back I’ll have some names to go off of.  The only problem with this whole decision, is I have no idea how to tell my trainer without breaking our relationship.  I have a feeling shes going to take it to heart and be upset, which is the last thing I want to happen.  If any of you have any tips on that, I’d love to hear it!

Other then that I have nothing too new due to not being with my horse.  Hopefully I’ll be able to get up there either later today, or early tomorrow.  Just wanted to give an update to everyone for the beginning of the new year!

My handsome boys 🙂

14 thoughts on “January 3rd, 2012

  1. I'm sorry you don't feel well and I hope you get better soon so you can see Libby. I think in the end everything will be all right. Some people come into your life for a time, some stay, some go.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. I hope you're starting to feel better – stomach viruses are the WORST. I feel you on the moving issue, and it's really hard to break the news to someone. I would just try to focus on the logistics and leave anything personal/emotional out of it. Your trainer may be upset at first, but if she is a rational person she will understand that you're just doing what's best for you and your relationship with your horse. Good luck barn shopping, that's not always the most fun.

    Like

  3. Being sick Is never fun. Neither is considering leaving your farm 😦 I think ultimately you will be much happier when you find a farm more suited to your wants. I hope that your trainer will understand. Ultimately, location, her business structure and your needs aren't aligning. It stinks but you ride for YOU no one else. So if you are unhappy it's kind of defeating the purpose. I hope she is understanding. I am sure that if approached correctly she should not want to severe ties. It's not like you don't want to ride with her. It's the circumstances. Good luck! Feel better!

    Like

  4. Ugh we were sick too.. but over Christmas. I feel your pain and hope that you are feeling better soon! 🙂

    I am not sure how to tell your trainer but I hope that you will have a good opportunity to tell her and that she will understand :-/ You totally have to do what works for you and is best for you and Libby- as hard as it is, it doesn't seem like your current situation is all that you want/need.

    Best of luck girl!

    Like

  5. I sometimes have irrational anxiety over talking with people I like and/or respect about things I think they may take as offensive. Usually it's fine, but if I let myself gnaw on it I'll have my stomach in knots for weeks. I would personally sit down with your trainer and tell her how much you have learned from her and how much you've appreciated her guidance, but explain that the current barn situation isn't working out. Give her as much notice as possible and perhaps if she takes it well, she can give you some suggestions on where to look. Theoretically, she would be the best person to help you source out a new coach within a boarding facility that meets your needs.

    Fingers crossed that it all goes well!

    Like

  6. I totally understand what you mean with the anxiety thing. I used to be nervous to take lessons with my old trainer, since I was so scared to do anything wrong in front of him, or say the wrong thing. One of the places I've been looking at she actually knows very well so hopefully it'll be a good transition for her, since she'll know where I am.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

