January 11th, 2013

After finishing my last post, I got a text from my trainer saying that Libby had another mild tye up.  I was so upset from loosing Rudy, that I didn’t even message her back, I was just so annoyed that she hadn’t shown up earlier in the day, and honestly I didn’t want to talk with her.  The next day I let her know that I got her message, and that I would look into supplements for her.  I think I’m going to start her on some electrolytes, and something with vitamin E and selenium for healthy muscles.  Hopefully it works, because I worry that these episodes have a detrimental effect on her muscles. 

So in other words, I haven’t gotten the chance to tell my trainer I’m leaving yet.  And Libby now has a couple days off so I probably won’t be seeing her until the weekend.  Hopefully I’ll have the cahoonahs to tell her when I see her, because I just want to get this over with. 

Other than that, I don’t have to much news.  As always I’ll keep you guys posted 🙂

14 thoughts on “January 11th, 2013

  1. Me too! I think I'm going to try some of the Smartpak brand stuff and even mix in some Farriers Formula since Libbys feet have been so crumbly lately. And I haven't 😦 I keep getting told to ask other people, or that they know where it is and will look for it. Frustrating.

    Like

  2. We know where it is and well look for it are 2 different things… If they know where it is they don't have to look for it! Plus you'll want it for the show right?! I am so frustrated for you.

    I have had really good luck with the smart hoof supplement. I think hue has pretty solid feet regardless but he has some of the best feet in the barn. I think it's smart hood ultra- probably comparable in cost and substance to farriers formula.

    Like

  3. Right? Its such unnecessary stress!

    Libby generally has really good feet too, but when I went home for a couple weeks, they went downhill. I'm just going to put her on Farriers Formula until they are back to normal I think. I used to use it on my old horse Huck and it did wonders for his Thoroughbred feet.

    Like

  4. Smartpak is awesome about letting you try things out or helping you pick a “mix” that is good for what you need so I am sure you will be able to find something that works well for you!

    Best of luck with “the talk”

    Like

  5. Be careful with selenium, too much can contribute to typing too in horses that are prone. I recommend electrolytes and also using a quarter sheet in the cooler weather. Sorry that happened, hope everything works out OK.

    Like

  6. Always about the perfect balance, of which I'm trying to find for her 🙂 The hard thing is its not when its cold, but when the temp changes drastically, normally from cold to hot. I'm hoping this new supplement will work well with her.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

