January 31st, 2012

Unfortunately, thanks to my procrastinating ways, I couldn’t go out to the barn yesterday because I had to finish an essay for a class.  So Libby got the day off, which I’m sure she didn’t mind.  It was so hot out anyways, in the high 80’s!

Woke up this morning, and the temperature was in the 40’s!! Soo cold!! Thankfully I didn’t have class until 3 so I could wit a bit for it too warm up outside before I ventured to the barn.  Got out there and there was no one there, save for the groom.  Got Libby tacked up, and I could tell it was going to be a cold-back day.  When I went to put the girth on I could see her flinching, poor Lib.  Got her all ready, took my sweet time though, and got on.  She was cold-backed, like I thought, but I was sure to warm her up very slowly and she felt better within minutes.  I wonder if this cold-backed issue is associated in any way with her tying up… Hmm something to think about.

Anyways got her working and she felt good after our warm up, which consisted of lots of walking.  She was pretty spooky today, looking everywhere, but was overall a good girl.  Worked mostly on going forward, and nice and straight but supple.  Had some awesome feeling moments at the canter where she felt so open and fluid, and I just allowed her.  Cooled her out and brought her in. 

Trainer ride tommorow.  Shes going to be the most prepared baby horse at the show I’m sure 🙂

Before our ride 🙂

14 thoughts on “January 31st, 2012

  1. I haven't… I'm hoping once shes on this supplement for a little longer it'll help. Her cold back days are now few and far between, and don't affect her too much. It just means I have to warm her up really well, and slowly.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

