February 5th, 2013

Woke up at the crack of dawn, 7 o’clock, and of course it was FREEZING!  Braved the cold and drove on out to the show.  I got there around 8:30 and Libby was munching on hay in her stall, happy as could be.  I was so happy to see her relaxed at the show!  Not that she hasn’t been anywhere off property, but this was a bigger show then what she used to, so I was proud.

Went up to the show office, and by the time I got back, the groom had just started lunging her.  Weird not having to do these things myself.  Around 9:15, we got Libby and the other horse, the stalliony gelding, tacked up, my trainer got on the sour puss while I led Libby out to the ring.  I didn’t really understand why she was riding him first, since she knew I had to leave at 10:30 to get back to school, but I didn’t say anything.  Got to the rings and she started working the gelding.  He wasn’t being very good, spooking and throwing a tantrum, so she went to take him for a gallop around the track, and long story short, she ended up schooling him and jumping him much longer then I’d hoped.  It was about 10:00 and she hadn’t even gotten on Libby yet.  She finally got on Lib around 10:15 and I let her know I had to leave in 30 minutes max.  So she warmed her up, schooled her over one fence outside the ring, and we were ready to go in.  Lib was so good, and jumped everything without a look.  She was already tired, but she looked so good, got her changes when asked, and jumped great.  And I left in time to get to class! Heres some video from schooling 🙂

16 thoughts on “February 5th, 2013

  1. She looks super. Blogger keeps eating my comments… So shiny! Are you guys schooling in the gag now? Thought she was going in the pelham. What's your show bit? I'm excited for you guys 🙂 you're going to do great!

    Like

  2. My trainer likes schooling in the gag, I don't really know why though. I always feel like it makes her that much heavier. Depending on how she is, she might not need the pelham today. It all depends on Lib. She has several “show bits” that we've decided to bring in our stash, including the pelham, the slow twist, the corkscrew, and the plain dee. And thank you!!! I can't wait!

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

