February 20th, 2013

Well today did not start out how I wanted it to at all.  Got to the barn to ride Lib before the vet, and stuck her on the lunge to be safe, since she hasn’t been ridden in two days, and it was chilly.  Send her out and low and behold, my horse is lame.  Not three-legged lame, but extremely short in her left front, the one that had been swollen before.  Cue tears, and panic attack.  Thankfully my trusted vet was on her way to give the vaccines, and when she got out of her car I quickly gave her the run down of what happened.  She dealt with the whole thing with Ollie with me, so she knows what I had to go through, and she calmed me down a whole lot.  Psychiatrist and veterinarian in one lol

Did a lameness evaluation, and Libby isn’t swollen anywhere, no heat to be felt, and isn’t sore to the hoof tester.  She was a bit stiff in her hocks though, and a bit sore in her right hock which makes sense since she’s off in her left front, and we talked about possibly putting her on a joint supplement to help her with that, and possibly getting a chiro out for her.  She was also a bit sore through her back, not terrible, but still sore.  But other than that, there was nothing obvious that would tell us why Libby was off.  So shes getting five days off with bute, and we’ll reevaluate when that times up.  She’ll get turnout, with bell boots, and her new boots on, and she’ll be under strict surveillance to make sure she’s not doing anything stupid in turnout.

Not what I wanted to happen in the morning. Ugh.  She did though get her vaccines, yay, and I had her teeth checked, which she’ll need to be done in about a month.  So many things to get done, and to pay for….

My list of things to get or due within the next few months:

  • Get new blankets for poor wide Libby
  • Get her teeth done
  • Get farrier out there
  • Have a chiro come out for her
  • Get new joint supplement

Ugh it never ends!!!

11 thoughts on “February 20th, 2013

  1. I hope that the time off and bute are enough to get her back to normal and that she just tweaked something. Horses are the gift that just keeps giving! haha. 🙂 Luckily we love them… Must be a mental deficiency on our part 😉

    Like

  2. One thing I learned by having a horse with arthritis in the hocks is that hock soreness/stiffness definitely contributes to a sore back and, like the vet said, I would guess it is most likely connected to the front end lameness, too. Get the hocks feeling better, and I bet she's good to go again. Fingers crossed!

    Like

  3. Yea I'm preparing myself to get her chiropracted next month. Originally the vet had said something about looking into injections, but I'm guessing she could tell by my face that that was a no. I'd much rather do something less invasive first, because you can't just stop doing it, you have to keep it up.

    Like

  4. Boo 😦 I've had a lot of bad luck with horses, and get the same emotional flood whenever I see my horse off. My trainer is the one who calms me down. Get better soon Libby!

    Like

  5. Only a horse owner that has been thru it understands – I cried last time Riva was lame (turned out to be a bump on her inside front caused by overtracking).

    Do you know what joint supplement you are going with?

    Like

  6. Get better soon Libby!

    I give Henry SmartCombo (This multi-purpose formula contains Glucosamine, MSM, Vitamin C, Biotin, Amino Acids, Omega 3 Fatty Acids, Probiotics, Prebiotics, Digestive Enzymes and more. Get your horse’s joint, hoof, digestive and coat support all-in-one and save! Your horse will love these tasty pellets.) and I really like it. He eats it well and I feel like it has a good “mix” … just an idea for you and Libby 🙂

    I am sure you will find something perfect for her!

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

