March 1st & 2nd, 2013

March 1st: Exams are DONE!! Thankfully I can now see my pony!  Got out to the barn and even though Lib still didn’t have her front shoe on, I wrapped her foot up with cotton and duck tape, and got on her.  I was only supposed to walk trot her in straight lines, so thats what I did.  And she was great.  I didn’t feel any unsoundness, or any shortness at all.  I was really happy.  She was soft, and supple, and didn’t rush or anything.  I obviously didn’t work her very hard, for only about 15 minutes, but I was happy with how we ended our ride.  I was sure to cool her out for a while, and gave her tons of cookies. 

After I got off, I checked my phone to see if any of the farriers that I’d called, multiple times, and of course no one answered, so I called the farrier I’d been using at my old trainers in a last attempt to get someone out.  Thankfully I was able to coax him out, payed him more then normal of course, and Libby got her feet done!! YAY!!!! I have learned though that Libby is not as good about her feet as my old trainer led me to believe.  I’m hoping that the next time I get her done, which I’m going to use the farrier that I used to use on Ollie, we can work with her on that.  I have a sickening feeling that she may have drugged her without my knowledge to just make it easier on the farrier, which I’m not happy about.  She’s not terrible, but she’s definitely not the easiest horse to deal with. 

After she got her feet done, again YAY, I cleaned her up a bit, and headed out to the feed store to get her joint supplement. 

March 2nd:  Got out to the barn and got her tacked up to ride.  Today was the last day to ride before I left, and I don’t exactly know when I’m getting back.  Was so happy to see that her feeties were done again, because I’d really been nervous about leaving her without them getting done.  Got her all groomed up and got on.  She was again really good, a bit lazy, but overall really good.  She was rooting really badly though, which I know is due to her needing to get her teeth done.  Next month Libs I promise!  Just did a quick W/T/C, first canter in a week, and she was great, a little discombobulated but really good.  Cooled her out and brought her in.  Was a great ride to leave for Spring Break. Spoke with one of the riders there whose going to be grooming her while I’m away, and gave her little instructions for her. 

Then spoke with the trainer about her rides, shes going to be ridden 3 times while I’m away, just to get her joints moving, and how I want her to go.  I instructed her to use my saddle, since hers is a narrow to fit her horse.  Gave her lots of treats, worked on our stretched, which the vet told me would be good for her, and went on my way. 

Unfortunately, my grandpa, or Pop pop as we lovingly call him, isn’t doing to well.  Might not be able to give to many updates until I get back to Gainesville, but everyone please keep him in your prayers. I’ll try to writes updates on Lib as I get them though 🙂

Missed him 😦
Shes so ladylike
9 thoughts on “March 1st & 2nd, 2013

  1. Will keep your grandfather in my thoughts. Hope you enjoy your time at home. And with the pup 🙂

    That's crazy about thinking libs was drugged without your knowledge!? I do drug Houston – my farrier probably wouldn't do him if I didn't. But in hoping he figures it out sooner rather than later.

    Like

  2. Thank you. I am, and am happy to see my family, just wished it was under different circumstances.

    I have my suspicion. The old farrier, the one we used before we switched to the one wed been using since the New Year, used to tell me how good shes been. And seeing her these past few times lead me to believe that somethings been up.

    Like

  3. I'm sorry about your grandfather 😦 Like everyone else has said, I'll keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

    Your dog is so cute, as is Libbers of course!! I'm glad you got to have some good rides before going home!

    Like

  4. Praying for your grandpa!

    That is shaddy about the farrier.. hope that you can get someone you like and miss Libby will cooperate 🙂

    Have a good spring break!

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

