March 14th, 2013

Thank you everyone for your kind words about my Pop pop.  It pains me to say it, but he passed away on Sunday.  Its very hard for me to form words and sentences to describe the grief that me and my family feel at this moment in time.  And it is increasingly harder for me to talk about.  But I will love and miss him forever, and will remember him the way I always knew him: a strong, gentle, kind man, whose family was his everything.  I love you Pop.

An oldie but a goodie – 2005

As L.Williams said in her blog post, ponies seem to help the healing process.

After a downright awful Spring break, I am finally back in town.  Drove out to go see Lib, and as I was driving in,  the trainer there was getting on her for a hack ride.  I’d forgotten to tell them that I was coming back, so whoops on my part.  But I was so tired from everything that I just said go ahead and school her. 

So I watched her school her.  And Libby was being BAD.  From what she was saying shes been a perfect angel all week, so I was surprised to see Lib being such a terror.  She was being spooky, and fast, and her gait looked choppy.  Not off, but not the normal easy extending gait that she normally has.  Of course, I was not to happy.  I talked to the trainer and she again said that shes been great all week and that of course she would show her bad side when I was watching.  Hopefully with me back she’ll be back to her normal self, gait and all.

Anyways watched her and then got on Lib to “cool her out”.  I put those in quotes because she was so spooky and up that I trotted her around a bit and tried to calm her down to no avail.  Oh Libs.  Got off and brought her in to groom her up.  Thankfully it was warm enough that I was able to give her a good bath, and I even started pulling her mane again.  It’ll probably take me a couple days to finish but oh well.

I really do think that she needs to get looked at by the Chiro though.  I’m going to put in another call to my vet to find out the status on the chiro that she’d wanted me to use. 

Have to run to the tack store to pick up bell boots, and to see if the blanket they’d ordered for me is in.  I was there when a Horze rep was in so I decided I would try their Avalanche blanket, as it seemed to look accommodating to large shouldered horses. 

Maybe not in that color…

Other than that nothing too new to report.  Ride today, the 15th, off on Saturday, and back in normal work on Sunday.

Not a lot, but some pics from said break.

Got to the show one day while I was home.  Ponies going to Pony Planet

And I was able to spend time with this lovely gentleman

10 thoughts on “March 14th, 2013

  1. I'm a little late to chime in as I haven't been blogging much recently, but I just wanted to let you know that I'm very sorry for your loss. We tend to form special bonds with our grandparents, and I can't imagine what you're going through. I hope you're able to think fondly of the memories you made together. If not now, soon. Thinking of you.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

