April 10th-11th, 2013

Since my vet wasn’t returning my calls, or answering texts messages, I decided to call her partner to make sure she was ok, and to ask him for his opinion on the pictures.  Turns out, my vet was in the ICU with a virus, but is now feeling much better.  Her partner expressed that he thought it was joint effusion, or a bog spavin, and that radiographs are necessary to figure out the underlying problem.  Ugh.  Thankfully, my vet is feeling better, so I scheduled for her to come out tomorrow morning to take x-rays of the hock to see what the heck is going on in there. 

Until we know for sure what this is, Libby is on rest, which for her means bute and turnout, but no riding.  My poor pony 😦 Not that I’m happy in anyway that she is hurt, or that she can’t be ridden, but I’m kind of glad I don’t have to ride her so I can give her back a rest.  I’m also going to be going home this weekend, so she’ll have that much more time to feel better.  I hate knowing that shes uncomfortable.

While I’m home, I’m going to try out a couple of PJ saddles.  My old trainers’ wife works for them and suggested I look into their saddles, since they are more affordable, and hopefully easier to work with.  The only thing is they don’t have reps that come out, so I’d need to bring the saddle to her, try it on her, and take videos/pictures to send to them to ensure it fits.  I HATE this because I am obviously not a fitter, and the only thing I really know about fitting is there should be no tight spots.  But we’ll see if I even like any enough to take them back with me. 

One of the saddle styles they have available

Next week I’m also trying to make another appointment with the independent fitter, since I really want her opinion, and she apologized for not being able to see me and is trying to fill me in.  If that doesn’t work out I have a CWD fitter coming out.  So we’ll see how those go.

All in all, not to much else to update on.  The barn has now switched to night turnout, since its so darn hot here now (87 today!), so I’m sure Libs happy to not have to bake in the sun. 

My friend K also sent me all the pictures of my ride on Libby last week, so I’ll be slowing putting them on here for your pleasure 🙂

Will update you guys on the vet visit tomorrow! Cross you fingers that its nothing :-/

Pretty girl 🙂

12 thoughts on “April 10th-11th, 2013

  1. Great cover pic, love the pic your friend took too!

    I hope that the vet provides some answers. I hope that the independent rep can come out when you have a PJ so that you aren't having to take a blind guess. Hope you like one of the saddles. I thought about going that route when I was looking but never got my hands on one and also didnt want foam panels.

    Like

  2. I hope there is nothing serious with Lib and you get answers! And I was just going to suggest what Hillary said, I hope that the independent fitter can be there when you have a PJ so they can eyeball it for you!

    Like

  3. She took the top one too 🙂 And thats a great idea! I really hope I can get her out here too, even if I decide not to bring the PJs, but to have an idea what she believes will be a good fit for both Libby and me.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

