June 26th, 2013

Got out to the ban fully expecting to have an awesome jump school, and walked in to see Libby with wraps on her hind legs.  As I was looking into her stall my trainer came around the corner and told me not to panic, but that she’d gotten herself hung in the paddock fence that morning when she’d been rolling. Ugh, are you kidding me!

When I took off the wraps to see what I have to work with, I was so annoyed I had to walk away and not look at her for a bit.  I forgot to take a picture, but there are all these cuts, that were oozing serum which made it look even worse, all over her back legs, mostly on her socks.  And because of all the cuts, her legs swelled up a bit.  I seriously couldn’t believe it.  I went to go get my Betadine scrub to get some of the dirt out, and was told to leave it alone by my trainer. 

Insert tiny rant here: Sometimes I feel like my trainer thinks I’m an idiot.  And not in a training undersaddle way, but like in a horsemanship way.  I’ve been around horses for a good long time, been a working student for a show farm, and while my riding may not be at the level of a professional, I know how to handle a lot of things when it comes to horses including wound care, giving shots, wrapping legs, tacking up, knowing if a horse is sick, ect.  I was just so annoyed that she gave me a look of “what the h*ll is wrong with you!!” when I brought out the Betadine scrub and Biozide dressing.  I do know what I’m doing, it isn’t the first and definitely won’t be the last cut I see.  End rant.

So I only walked her undersaddle, just to get the juices flowing back there and get the swelling down a bit.  But she was good and we went on a mini walk around the property.  I didn’t have puffs in her, so she was a bit more alert, but she held her stuff together.  My good girl!

Just hoping the cuts are semi healed before we go to the show July 5-7.  Yep were going to a show!!! And it’ll be my first true away show since we have to get a hotel room! Exciting, exciting!

21 thoughts on “June 26th, 2013

  1. Interesting that your trainer didn't want you to mess with her legs. Had she maybe just done them?

    Glad you had a nice walk despite the cuts and that she wasn't seriously injured.

    Like

  2. Hope her legs heal quickly! That is weird that she didn't want you to treat them! I am the queen of doing stuff to any wound and wouldn't be able to just leave them haha!

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

