The daily grind…

With Libbys most recent fence fight, I’ve been nervous about her hocks having problems again.  When the initial event happened, her hocks swelled up so terribly, almost looking like they had cellulitis, and the swelling in the right hock, the one we’d had issues with earlier in the year, just wasn’t going down.  I’d been telling myself if it didn’t go down considerable by this weekend, I was having the vet out.  Worrisome Wendy over here…

dapples…

So Monday after my family weekend, got out to the barn and got Libby ready for a nice hack.  Her cuts on her legs are already healing, and while there was still swelling, it wasn’t nearly as bad as it had been before.  Got on and she just didn’t feel right, not unsound or anything just sticky, but she felt like she worked out of it.  Overall had an OK hack, she was spooky (IN HEAT) but she held it together for me for the most part.  She’s been doing a lot more tail swishing lately though, could be because shes in heat, but nevertheless I don’t like it.  Makes me think shes in pain or something.  Brought her in, hosed her down, and applied the ointment all over her legs.

Tuesday I came out and got her ready for a lesson.  Got on and she again felt stiff, but worked out of it.  My trainer thinks the farrier might have taken off too much hoof on her hinds and shes a little ouchie, but I feel like if that were the case she wouldn’t work out of it, she would get worse.  She did work out of it with lots of trotting.  We decided she looked sound to jump a little bit, and wanted to see if maybe the increased hock action would help get the swelling down a bit more.  So we started just trotting jumps, but she was WILD.  Flashback to the days when I first got her, and I had to back her off to every fence.  Despite her exuberance towards jumping, I held it and her together, and we ended on a great note.  Brought her in and Sore-No-Mored her legs and back and gave her treaties. 

Wednesday came out and a vet was there looking at other horses, so I thought why not quiet my fears a bit and have him look at Libby.  So he did, watched me walk her around, and decided that due to her confirmational issues, shes slightly cow-hocked behind, she has swelling in the joints.  He suggested Adequan or some sort of muscle supplement of the like, and possible corrective/theraputic shoeing.  Which means I’m going to need to find another farrier. 

Hacked her after that, and while she was good, she still feels stuck and sticky, so I didn’t do to much with her at all.  Brought her in, hosed her down, and gave her treats.

While I was on my little break from blogging, I’d also had the chiro out to see Libby.  I’d been worried about her joint effusion, and shed been developing a hunters bump a bit, with her withers becoming more prominent.  The chiro came out and much to my dismay, told me Libby looked like a totally different horse, and not in a good way.  I don’t know how she changed so much, her routine has been much of the same with a bit more horse shows in there, but after everything she told me to look into the Adequan as well, and to remove Omega 6’s from her diet, something easier said then done, especially at this farm. 

So I’m going to start looking into Adequan or Legend, and sniff around for a good farrier.  Do any of you use Adequan, Legend, Polyglycan, or Pentosan??  Let me know your thoughts on them!

8 thoughts on “The daily grind…

  1. I used Adequan on my old guy, and it made a world of difference until other (unrelated) issues got in the way of his soundness.

    Some things to consider:

    1) The company that makes Adequan has had a few shortages of the drug in the last few years. Not sure if the latest shortage is over, but not good if every store in the US is out and you need some.

    2) It's expensive — to start you have to do loading doses, which is more of the drug more frequently. Then you can back off, but for my horse it was still a once-a-month injection.

    3) It's IM, and even I learned to do it myself… and I am not good at that kind of stuff. So that's a plus.

    All in all, for my horse it made a big difference and I would use it again. I know that the Polka Dot Periodical did use Adequan and recently switched to either Polyglycan or Pentosan (can't remember which) so you might ask her for her input as well.

    Another option I was presented with was Previcox — not sure if it's USEF legal, but lots of folks in the AQHA world have used it with success. Might be another (I believe cheaper) option to discuss with your vet.

    Like

  2. Man you have been through the ringer with horses lately eh? I don't have any input on the Adequan, but fingers crossed you get everything sorted out and have a happy, healthy (sound!) Libby soon.

    Like

  3. I used polygcan for hue (my vet had me do on and off) and I think it really really helped him. It's not as expensive as adequin I don't think and my vet seems to love it but every vet has a different opinion on these things it seems. Hope you can get Libby back to normal.

    Like

  4. I use Pentosen/HA on one of my jumpers. I used to inject his hocks but since starting the Pentosen I have not needed to. It is affordable too. And you can also get it with Glucosamine.

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

