Slow Uphill Climb

Got a preview of the pictures taken from Monday and so far, I love them! Can’t wait to see the rest of them, but I’m sure they’re beautiful!  Tuesday got to the farm and waited for Libby to finish eating her dinner so I could tack up.  No swelling or heat, so yay for that!  And thankfully with DST, I had more time to ride, so I was able to let her eat her grain and most of her hay before I brought her to the wash rack to tack up. 

As I brought her up, she seemed short but not lame like before, so I stuck to the plan my vet has for us and I tacked up to see how she felt when I was on.  Got on, and while she definitely didn’t feel back to normal, she wasn’t totally off.  She just felt short and stiff.  Had a barnmate take video for me, and after watching it in comparison with old videos of her, it makes me so upset.  Shes so short looking and not nearly as flowy compared to before. 

BEFORE:

The first few seconds you can see how floaty she is, even though its on a turn, its noticeable. 
NOW:

The videos from Tuesday.

                                     
Can you guys see what I’m seeing? Am I going nuts!?  Shes still a bit off in the turns, but short looking to me….

Only did walk/trot with her again, and brought her back in and gave her lots of treats. 

Decided to change things regarding her normal routine to rule some things out.  Shes now living in her bell boots, which she only wore when out in the field before.  Hopefully it’ll protect her ankles from getting hit in the back by her hind hooves.  Not that thats whats causing this, but I’m trying to cover all my bases.  Plus, shes already cut through her new, relatively thick bell boots at the tops in a straight line across the ankle, so I know shes catching herself there.  Getting her new higher quality ones, and if she cuts through those, I’m going to look into fetlock boots.

Wednesday I got out and tacked her up.  Again, no swelling or heat!  Got on and again she felt like she did the day before.  I’ve been told to continue riding her until she is showing definite signs of lameness, since she keeps coming sound whenever I take the babying her approach.  So to find out what it is, I’ve been told to in a sense “draw out” the lameness.  Not to say that I’m riding her hard at all or that I’m trying to break her, but were trying to see if she works out of it, and if shes still ok the next day after riding.  I hate this method of diagnostics, but we don’t really know what else to do.  It’s almost like she knows when I dress in riding clothes and is lame on those days, and not on the days I come in leggings and sneakers.  So while she still didn’t feel 100%, or even 95% to me yet, I gave her a light walk/trot ride. 

Brought her back in after the ride and again gave her treats.  Gave her a bath and was planning on clipping her, but it was so windy, and we don’t have an enclosed crosstie area, so I decided to wait until it wasn’t so windy, and save myself a mouthful of hair.  Planning to do it Friday.  I’ll be doing a custom clip style with a back patch and a small girth patch left on to hopefully prevent her extreme cold back tendencies after her clip.

Overall I feel pretty frustrated with this lameness.  I know its not rational thinking, but I feel like with whatever is going on, her floaty movement is lost in the abyss of lameness.  Again woe is me, but its hard not to think this way when I have videos to obsess over. 

Keeping my head up and continuing with our plan of riding until something happens.  I’m stating to have a feeling though that whatever this is is shoulder related.  But we’ll see!

9 thoughts on “Slow Uphill Climb

  1. Hope you get it figured out soon. We are lucky to live close to some amazing diagnostic vets like Peterson and Smith too! Maybe that's an option?

    Like

Leave us a comment down below!

