Blog Hop: Immediate Inspiration

Most of us take lessons, whether its a couple times a week or a couple times a month. Some of us have more then one instructor. Why do you train with your trainer? If okay or possible, share a picture of your trainer riding.
For those of you that have been following me for a while, you know I’ve gone through my fair share of trainers.  Four to be exact in four years.  That in itself is mind blowing to me, considering that before college I’d stuck it out with a relatively manipulative trainer for about 6 years.  I must be getting more and more picky now, since I’m realizing that I can’t put up with certain things.

So with that, lets talk about my current trainer!  I moved to my current farm in early December, and was having trouble with Libby at the old farm.  I had no confidence in my abilities, and I was starting to feel that Libby was turning into strictly a 2’6″ horse or a 3′ horse at best.  I couldn’t ride her in anything really other then the pelham with only the curb, and showing was out of the question.  Lets just say my new trainer, K, had a lot of work to do when we got there. 

One thing that I really liked about K is that she was a lot like me in our riding starts.  We both didn’t have the funds to have the nicest horses in the barns, sometimes not even having a horse at all.  But she rode through it, much like I did.  She did everything: dressage, hunters, jumpers, and even did some AQHA stuff when she was really young with her QH mare.  A lot of greenies later, and a whole bunch of problem horses, with of course some really nice ones mixed in, has created a knowledgeable, and determined trainer who really wants to get the best out of you and your horse. 

So photo time:

While K is mostly a jumper trainer, she has a very traditional approach to the horses, incorporating a lot of dressage work into their flat work to get them on the bridle and using their hind ends correctly, something I knew Libby needed desperately.  K is also very good at feeling out comfort levels, she knows just where to push me and when to take a step back.  With Libby she is boss, and what she says goes.  She understands though that Libby does much better with praise then punishment, and knows when to push her buttons and when to comfort her.  A fine line that was hard to balance with Libby, especially in the beginning when I’d first moved her. 

But I believe that the proof is in the pudding.  I went from being a bit nervous about jumping Libby, since I felt she was so sore and wasn’t happy, to being excited about my lessons.  I was nervous at even the thought of bringing Libby anywhere off property, and now I’m working my tail off to afford shows, and I’m excited to see how we’ll be.  Of course, we still have a long way, but I’m super excited to see what the future brings us.  I so wish I could have found her YEARS ago, but now that I’ve found her, I’m making the most of it, and learning everything I can.

3 thoughts on “Blog Hop: Immediate Inspiration

Leave us a comment down below!

