10 Questions for December

So first off, thank you L at Viva Carlos for these awesome Bloghops that keep the content coming.

tumblr_ognuojf9jd1v2ycs8o1_540

Does your horse need shoes?

YES.  Libby doesn’t necessarily have terrible feet, but the balance is all wonky.  On her right front she likes to grow more on the inside then the outside, and on her left front she can almost look a bit clubby if not balanced correctly.  Finding a good farrier in South Florida was seriously one of the worst things I’ve had to deal with, and thankfully I think we’ve got it figured out.

What do you think of the barefoot v. shoes debate?

I honestly hadn’t realized there was a debate!  I think there are a number of horses who can do quite well with just going barefoot, but for the performance horses, who undergo a lot of concussion and need help with shock absorption, shoes are a necessity.  Also, the sandy, rocky soil of Florida is way too abrasive for a horse to not have some sort of support.

tumblr_o1tzppr6561s4r18co1_540

Favorite season for riding?

Definitely fall/winter for me, but thats because I’m in sunny Florida and any other time of the year is death-oven-melt-your-face-off-hot.

tumblr_n2ek7hivko1tveyg6o1_540
Say hello to my backyard… Kind of

How many shows do you think you’ve gone to?

As a rider, not that many.  Probably under twenty for sure.  But as a groom/working student/not showing my own horse, over a hundred.  It’s super easy to get up there when there’s a show going on twenty minutes from your house almost very weekend.

Do you consider yourself a good rider?

This question is hard.  I think when I’m able to slow my brain down a bit, I’m a decently effective rider with okay equitation.  My riding also improves immensely when I’m on anyone else’s horses.  I think Libby and I know each other too well, and we both anticipate what the other will do. It ends up backfiring, and in the end I create a lot of the problems.

I think if I could compare my current riding to how I was when I was a working student, like do a side-by-side video comparison, I’d be thoroughly embarrassed though.

15541664_10153929882660672_3229774361441552535_n
The most beautiful girl ❤

How experienced do you think someone needs to be to own their own horse?

This one is also hard because I have a very black and white view of this.  If you don’t know what your doing, lease a horse from a professional who can guide you through everything.  I see no reason why people go out and buy a horse with absolutely no knowledge of how to properly care for that animal.  Leasing is a great option for someone to gain the necessary experience and knowledge of all the little nuances that go into horse ownership.

This might sound harsh, but if you don’t know what your doing, you had no business getting the horse in the first place.  Sure, you should ask for sound advice, which doesn’t necessarily include going online.  But in my experience in equestrian retail, I meet many people who liked horses from afar, decided to randomly go out and buy/adopt one, and now the horse is “so skinny I can count his bones, but my friend says thats normal”, or has a “really bad cut that won’t heal”, or “needs the harshest bit you have because he has PTSD and I don’t want to fall off”.  Seriously, these are things I’ve legitimately heard.  And while I understand why people love horses and want to be involved with them, I feel for the animals that have to deal with their ignorance.

Have you ever gotten into a fight with your trainer?

I have once, with the trainer I had when I bought Libby.  Granted, I was so ready to leave after all the drama she allowed in her barn that I think I just snapped.  Since then, I may have disagreed and had a thoughtful conversation on the matter, but never a fight.

Describe your dream horse:

My dream mare would look like an overgrown pony, have a very soft mouth, a good work ethic, but naturally be very quiet.  She would have a super ginormous stride, gorgeous rhythmical movement, and a powerful snappy jump.  Obviously I want a hunter 😉

8833
What a jump!

Does anyone in your family ride?

Nope, I’m the one and only.

If you could ride any horse in the world, which one would it be?

I would love to ride Cosmeo, or Catch Me.  Also even though I know she can be a turd-miffin, I’ve always loved Babalou the chestnut mare Todd Minikus rides.

96898
CUTE!!
Leave us a comment down below!

